All hail the Web – despair delivered in minutes not days!

Posted: January 12, 2012 in Writing
Tags: , ,

Yeah, of course the internet is good for some stuff: buying things, talking to people and so on. And on the whole I welcome the lit agents who have embraced it and actually request you send them your synopsis and sample 3 via e-mail instead of in a fucking envelope.

The down sound is the speed with which they can now tell you to piss off. Yesterday I received my fastest ever rejection. I emailed  the extremely cool sounding agent Lucy Luck to send her some of The Geek Manifesto to look at. She sent me her polite (aren’t they all) yet ultimately crushing rejection inside TWENTY MINUTES! I guess I should be pleased to avoid the hanging around, but you know, it still hurts.

I also entered the GQ short story comp with this little tale. Short stories not really my thing, too much like icing a cupcake or painting a fiddly bit of a door frame or something,  but it’s all good practice. I like the quote attributed to Hemingway or Pascal amongst others:  “I would have written you a shorter letter, but I didn’t have time.”

Today I am also re-reading David Foster Wallace’s A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again, laughing so hard it hurts and then weeping at my own comparative literary inadequacy.

I am also going to try and spend no money today. Apart from coffee, obv. Take that, flailing UK economy!

 

And inspired by this nice little blog, I shall start writing a daily haiku. Here’s today’s:

I shall write haiku

Each day until I am bored.

Then I shall give up.

Leave a Reply

