Man vs Food – Crouch End style.

Posted: July 18, 2012 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

I have long been a fan of the American TV show, Man vs Food, in which likeable, tubby, Brooklynite  food fantaic, Adam Richman, travels around the USA finding cafes and diners that offer some sort of food challenge. These tend to take the form of either a challenge based on size, such as an 8lb burger or giant stack of pancakes:

or some kind of extreme, chilli eating challenge usually involving a bunch of habaneros, ghost chilies and  capsaicin (basically the pure, firery essence of all chillies).

I have entered two food eating contests in my life and have won both (easily, I might add) : chillies and fish fingers. The chillies took a little effort, but to be honest, with 37 fish fingers down and my competitors collapsing in pain, I could happily have carried on.

We don’t really have much of a culture of competitive eating in the UK, but on a recent visit to Crouch End cafe Hot Pepper Jelly, I was delighted to see a gentle move in that direction.

Hot Pepper Jelly  is a cute little eight table joint squeezed in amongst many others along Tottenham Lane ( nowhere near Tottenham, don’t worry; it’s Crouch End’s main drag). It has free wifi,  charming waitresses ( never seen a dude waiter working there) serves a decent coffee in pretty little cups and a really nice selection of cafe food with an emphais on sandwhiches. But the killer is their signature Hot Pepper Jelly  a combo of bacon, peanut butter and a variety of chilli jams and jellies.

They are a thing of beauty as they are and the hot version is already enough to make you wince a little ( you know, in a good way), but once I’d ordered the already pretty fiery version, I noticed on the menu that they now offer a super hot version called… The Inferno. I couldn’t justify ordering another sandwhich right then and there, but I promise you, Hot Pepper Jelly, I will be back to take down your Inferno!

 

House of Dreams – the new novel by Callum Jacobs. Buy it now at Amazon.

Comments
  1. […] Man vs Food – Crouch End style. Archives […]

  2. as well as coffee, I am addicted to chilli. look forward to trying this out!

  3. […] promised in my recent  Man vs Food post, today I returned to lovely Crouch End cafe, Hot Pepper Jelly on the Broadway, to take down The […]

Leave a Reply

